C Shamshuddin Withdraws Himself From On-Field Duties - Sportzwiki
Cricket

C Shamshuddin Withdraws Himself From On-Field Duties

The Indian umpire C Shamsuddin, who was to officiate in the third and final T20I between India and England in Bangalore withdrew himself from the on-field duties as the umpire was not feeling 100% for the game. He instead chose to perform the role of the third umpire for the game, handing his duty to his fellow Nitin Menon.

C Shamshuddin was under scanner since the end of the second T20I after he gave two wrong decisions in the game, out of which one came at a crucial juncture, when England needed eight runs of the last over of the game. The wrongly adjudged LBW decision of Joe Root just changed the course of the game and it was India, that won a nail-biting thriller to keep themselves alive in the series.

The wrongly LBW adjudged decision was not taken well by England skipper Eoin Morgan and he also decided to take the matter to the match referee.

That decision and the fatigue can be the reason why he withdrew as Shamshuddin just flew a day ago from Australia to officiate in the game.

Most Popular

Top