Glenn Maxwell criticised the new fielding law

Glenn Maxwell grabbed a screamer on Friday when England defeated Australia in the fourth ODI at Headingley to restore the parity of the series. But, he is not happy with the catch of Liam Plunkett  as the rule change allowed him to catch Liam Plunkett’s at the deep mid wicket jumping back from the outside boundary at Headingley on September 11.  

Maxwell was fielding at deep midwicket during the death over of England’s series –leveling three-wicket win. Maxwell dismissed Plunkett after dodging  the ball on the edge of the boundary, then jumping to complete the take in mid-air despite his last point of with ground having taken place on the wrong side of the rope, cricinfo reported.

“I think it makes it easier as an outfielder,” Maxwell said. “You’ve got to be aware of the rope as well but it made the catch a lot easier to complete, to be able to jump from back over [the boundary] and catch it in the air.

“Obviously I didn’t really want to have to do it, but I lost a bit of balance on the boundary line so I thought I had to throw it up, and obviously with the law being like it is, jump from over the rope and back in and catch it in mid-air.”

Prior to October 2013, the law had stated that the fielder needed to have started in the field of play and be grounded inbounds before securing the catch. But, MCC  amended the law to reward athleticism in the outfield. Maxwell, one of the best exponents of the art, said he didn’t see the point of the change.

“I don’t think it makes a whole lot of sense,” Maxwell said after the Headingley match. “I think you should have to get back into the boundary. After the match at Headingley, Maxwell said, “I don’t think it makes a whole lot of sense”.  “I think you should have to get back into the boundary,” Maxwell stated.

Maxwell drew the example of basketball where “ You have to jump from inside to throw it back in, you can’t jump up in the air and catch it on the way back in”.

“But while we’re taking catches on our side it doesn’t really bother me, but I know if I was a batsman I’d be pretty upset if that was the dismissal. You’ve just go to play the rules you’re given.”

Victorious England captain Eion Morgan, who was also a victim of Maxwell’s brilliance when he was caught one-handed in the gully for 92,  hailed Maxwell’s catch as “fantastic” but also admitted that he is not aware of the rule change.

“I’m unclear on the rules, to be honest,” Morgan said. “I think it’s changed a couple of times so I will be asking so that I know for the future.”

Maxwell himself got to know about this law when he was commenting on twitter during a similar incident in Australia’s T20 league Big Bash In January.  Josh Lalor in a similar fashion, dismissed Cameron White, Melbourne Star’s captain, started his feet outside the field of play.

He later admitted he was “happy to be proven wrong”, but added he thought it was a poor amendment. MCC later clarified the rule change on its website

  • SHARE
    Sports Crazy man, Live in cricket, Love writing, Studied English journalism in Indian Institute of Mass Communication, Chose sports as the subject for study, Born 24 years ago during the 1992 Cricket world cup. When he is not writing love to watch movies and reading books and novels.

    Related Posts

    Indian Board Presidents XI vs New Zealand, 1st One-day practice: Prithvi Shaw All-round Effort...

    Board President XI in the 1st Practise match against New Zealand defeated the Kiwis by 30 runs to give them a reality check ahead...

    Squad Rotation Likely As Barca Face Olympiakos In Champions League

    Madrid, Oct 17 (IANS) FC Barcelona coach Ernesto Valverde will almost certainly use his side's Champions League tie against Olympiakos on Wednesday to carry out...

    Pankaj Jaiswal Blasts 2nd Fastest Fifty in Indian First-Class History

    In what came as a surprise to the Indian domestic circuit, Himachal Pradesh fast bowler Pankaj Jaiswal blasted the 2nd fastest fifty in the...

    ‘U-17 World Cup A Great Opportunity For India’

    Kolkata, Oct 17 (IANS) Despite his friends in India telling him football will never topple cricket and become the country's top sport, Alan Shearer, the...

    Virat Kohli Forgets To Wish Anil Kumble On His Birthday, Tweets Fanboy Moment With...

    It seems Virat Kohli is yet to get over the bitter undisclosed incident that took place with Anil Kumble that led to the latter...