Sri Lankan captain Angelo Mathews’s decision to review a Leg Before Wicket (LBW) decision against Joe Root of England in their International Cricket Council Cricket World Cup 2015 match is trolled by International Cricket Council (ICC).
It was the 1st innings of the match. England were batting then. Suranga Lakmal was bowling to Joe Root in the 39th over. The fifth ball of 39th over hit Joe Root’s front pad, the Sri Lankans appealed and on field umpire Bruce Oxenford cancelled their appeal saying “No”.
The debate started when, Angelo Mathews decided to review that decision. The replays demonstrated the ball was missing the wickets by some distance, even the impact was way exterior. The third umpire for certain reasons, gave it “Not Out”. Later International Cricket Council (ICC) posted the images of that review in social media and asked that is this the worst review decision that you have ever seen?
— ICC (@ICC) March 1, 2015