India ended their defence of the World Cup on March 26th as they lost to Australia by 95 runs in the second semi-final of the 2015 World Cup at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Chasing a humongous total of 329 to win, India managed to score only 233. With this win, Australia will face New Zealand in the finals at the MCG on March 29th to get their hands on the World Cup for the fifth time. 
 
In the aftermath of India’s defeat and subsequent pathetic media reactions, we missed out an intriguing passage of play. Here we further revise it:
 
In the 22nd over of Australia’s innings, Aaron Finch played a sweep on the bowling of Ravindra Jadeja but got beaten and the latter appealed for lbw, which went against him. Skipper MS Dhoni went against his instinct to review the umpire’s decision as he was convinced that the ball hit outside the line of Finch’s off-stump, but Jadeja was hell bent on the fact that it hit him in the line. Dhoni then asked him where he hit him on the pad to which Jadeja replied the inside part of the bat. 
 
 
Seeing the confidence of Jadeja, Dhoni went for the review but it looked from Dhoni’s face that he was still not convinced about it. The result came and the replays showed umpire’s call. A desperate review that turned out to be wrong one.   
 
Frankly speaking, it was a bad call by Jadeja to force Dhoni for a review. What if a decision would have gone against India later on the innings? In that case, both Jadeja and Dhoni would have ruining the fact that they used the DRS poorly. 
 
 
  • SHARE
    While spending good 22 years of my life, I found my passion in India's unofficial national game, Cricket.

    Read More