Chris Broad, match referee for the first test between New Zealand and Australia at the Basin Reserve admitted that umpire Richard Illingworth was simply “distraught” for a dubious decision he gave. While Adam Voges was on 7, he left a delivery from Doug Bracewell which castled him. However, Illingworth adjudged that as a no-ball as he felt that Bracewell had overstepped. Voges was given a life and he went on to make 239, which ultimately had a massive effect on the game. However, the replays suggested that Bracewell had bowled a fair delivery.

The decision was a game changing one and Illingworth was simply shattered by it. “Unfortunately, Richard was distraught afterwards when he realised that it wasn’t a no ball,” Broad said to a newspaper.  I think when anyone is proved wrong in any decision that they make it’s clearly embarrassing at the time. But umpires, particularly on the elite panel have a great ability to be able to overcome that feeling and get on with the game,” he added.

 

“There can be nothing done about it. The problem is that when an umpire calls a no-ball, you can’t change that decision because under the laws a batsman may change his shot when the no-ball is called. It was called – that’s the end of the matter. Richard is a Yorkshireman, he shrugs his shoulders and gets on with it. I’m constantly amazed at how the umpires, when they do make their occasional errors, are able to recover from it,” Broad added about the decision.

 

  • SHARE

    A cricket enthusiast who has the passion to write for the sport. An ardent fan of the Indian Cricket Team. Strongly believe in following your passion and living in the present.

    Related Posts

    Rohit records third double-ton in ODIs

    Mohali, Dec 13: India skipper Rohit Sharma (208 not out), who piloted India to a mammoth 392 against Sri Lanka on Wednesday, became the first...

    British cyclist Chris Froome to cooperate with UCI after abnormal drug test

    Madrid, Dec 13: Britain's four-time Tour de France champion Chris Froome on Wednesday said he would provide any information required by the International Cycling Union,...

    WWE Smackdown Live full results: December 12th, 2017

    Last night marked the go-home edition of Smackdown Live for the Clash of Champions PPV, on this Sunday. Shinsuke Nakamura was back in action...

    WWE: What Happened Once Smackdown Went Off The Air: December 12, 2017

    Yesterday marked the last night before Smackdown Live comes up with the annual PPV event, Clash of Champions on this Sunday. It is going...

    WWE News: New Number One Contender’s Match Announced for Next Week’s Raw

    As reported earlier, Rich Swann got suspended from WWE for an indefinite span of time. He was involved in an altercation with his wife...