Virender Sehwag once deployed a stretegy against South Africa. India needed one wicket to bowled out South Africa. So, Sehwag kicked the ball to the boundary in order to avoid conceding a single. But, he was penalized by the Umpire for his uncricketing behavour.
During second Test between India and South Africa in 2010 at Eden Gradens, India needed one wicket in the last four overs to level the series and regain their No. 1 ranking in Tests with Hashim Amla and Morkel at the crease.
Indian captain MS Dhoni called Sachin to ball an over. Tendulkar did not concede any runs in the first four balls.But on the fifth ball Amla punched the ball on the back foot whoich went racing towards the boundary with Sehwag chasing it. However, the ball stopped jus an inch ahead of the boundary line. Amla just took a single, but Sehwag kicked the ball to boundary to keep Morne Morkel on strike for the next over.
Umpire Steve Davis consulted with thitd umpire regarding it and gave 1 run for shot and penalized 5 runs for kicking the ball which were added to South African total.
However, Amla’s attempt foiled as India had won the match by 9 runs and regained the numero uno spot in ICC Test ranking.
Watch the video