Real Madrid forward Gareth Bale has claimed that he was not given a penalty even as his side’s Champions League hopes were left hanging by a thread after a disappointing 0-2 defeat in the first leg of their quarter-final tie against Wolfsburg here.

Beside his appeal falling on deaf ears, Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo had a goal disallowed for offside in the second minute on Wednesday night.

Bale cut in front of Luis Gustavo and got the ball before falling over inside the area. The Welshman’s plea was waved off by the referee and then Ricardo Rodriguez and Maximilian Arnold scored within seven minutes of each other in the first half to gift Wolfsburg a remarkable victory.

“I went down. I had the ball in front of me and he took me out, if that’s outside the area it’s a foul, so inside it has to be a penalty,” Bale was quoted as saying by on Wednesday.

“Obviously, it’s a frustrating result but we get another chance. It’s not a good result, but we have time to turn it around. What we have to do is make sure we win the return leg by three goals.”

The second leg will be played in Madrid on April 12.

    The IANS was founded by Indian American publisher Gopal Raju as the India Abroad News Service. It was later renamed the Indo-Asian News Service.

    Read More