Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, and Deepak Chahar, the standbys named for the Indian team for the ICC 2022 T20I WC, will be travelling reserves, it has been confirmed.
The selection committee, the team management, and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have decided that the four standbys will fly with the team to Australia and be available to be co-opted into the squad at any given time.
Mohammed Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, And Deepak Chahar Will Be Travelling Reserves For The 2022 T20I World Cup : BCCI Confirms
The likes of pacers Mohammed Shami and Deepak Chahar will thus be readily available to the team management should there be an issue with any of the fast bowlers named in the 15-member squad.
Two of them – Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, apart from all-rounder Hardik Pandya – have been asked to report to the National Cricket Academy (NCA) for conditioning-related work during the course of the home series against Australia and South Africa.
Mohammed Shami, whose non-inclusion came up for much debate, last played a T20I in the 2021 T20I WC in the UAE, almost a year ago when he had finished with an underwhelming six for 140 in five games and a tournament economy rate of 8.84 in those games.
While he had a good IPL 2022 and was impressive in the ODIs against England earlier this year, he has since been out of the reckoning with a number of pacers jumping him in the queue for the shortest format.
Navdeep Saini Injured And Ruled Out Of Duleep Trophy And Upcoming India A Unofficial ODI Series
Navdeep Saini has been injured and is ruled out of the Duleep Trophy currently underway in Tamil Nadu centers as well as the upcoming unofficial ODI series between India A and New Zealand A. Rishi Dhawan has been roped in as a replacement in the A squad.
Navdeep Saini has had hamstring issues and had to be pulled out of bowling from North Zone’s game against South Zone in Salem. In South Zone’s first innings, the 29-year-old pacer bowled only 11.2 overs (1/58) before suffering the injury.
He, however, batted in the team’s first innings (made four runs). In the second innings, he did not bowl. It is likely he will be reported to the NCA.