2022 FIFA World Cup: Here's Why Japan's Controversial Goal Against Spain Was Allowed Despite The Ball Appearing To Be Out
2022 FIFA World Cup: Here's Why Japan's Controversial Goal Against Spain Was Allowed Despite The Ball Appearing To Be Out (Credits: Twitter)

Japan registered a memorable win over Spain to progress ahead of the group stage in the ongoing 2022 FIFA World Cup. Having defeated Germany earlier in the group stage, Japan came from behind to beat Spain by 2-1 to finish the group stage as toppers and book a place in the last 16.

Spain also joined Japan from the group in the last-16.  Germany, on the other hand, registered a 4-2 win over Costa Rica but bowed out of the tournament on goal difference.

2022 FIFA World Cup
2022 FIFA World Cup: Japan (Credits: Twitter)

Japan’s controversial goal and why it was allowed?

Apart from Japan’s incredible achievement in the 2022 FIFA World Cup, their controversial winner against Spain has also become the talk of the town. Japan’s second goal against Spain was scored by Ao Tanaka and it was allowed to stand after a lengthy VAR check despite the ball appearing to be out of play.

Also Read: 2022 FIFA World Cup: Alan Shearer Brutally Trolls Germany After Their World Cup Exit

Certain camera angles did show that the ball was out of play but eventually, Japan had their goal. Kaoru Mitoma crossed the ball from the left side of the goal before Tanaka found the back of the net. The evidence was not really conclusive but after a lengthy VAR check, referee Victor Gomes was eventually instructed to award the goal.

Had the goal not been allowed and the game finished as a draw, Germany would have progressed to the knockouts along with Spain from the group. Unsurprisingly, the controversial goal has become the talk of the town.

Here’s why Japan’s second goal was allowed:

The footballing world was left scratching its head when the goal was allowed despite several camera angles clearly showing that the ball was out of play. However, alternative angles that haven’t yet been released by FIFA led to the VAR team concluding that the whole ball hadn’t actually gone out. Those unreleased angles are the reason why the officials are so adamant that they made the right call.