The ICC has justified the decision of the umpires for calling the catch taken by Steven Smith as legal. Earlier in the 3rd ODI between Australia and Pakistan , Steven Smith took a fantastic catch to dismiss Fawad Alam . Several questions were then raised and it created a controversy on whether the catch was legal or not. Smith was fielding at first slip and he moved towards leg slip as Fawad Alam shaped up to flick the ball towards leg slip.

ICC has now come forward and has stated it legal. The rule states that if a closing fielder is moving in response to an action taken by the batsman ( action which make it obvious of the shot which the batsman is shaping to play), then it is legal. Even then if the umpire finds it wrong, he can call that illegal i.e if he feels that it’s an attempt to distract the batsman.

The debate was there because everyone believed that the fielder cannot move until the ball reaches the batsman but ICC has now cleared the issue. Actually, ICC had just recently asked the umires to take the later one to judge the legality , during the recent workshop of the match officials held at Dubai.


Get all the news and other interesting details about the upcoming T20 tri-series (Nidahas Trophy) featuring India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka. Follow an download IPL 2018 schedule. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter to stay connected with all the news related to the league. Also, check live score and you can subsequently download the Sportzwiki cricket app for Android to stay updated.

    A cricket addict

    Read More