Watch the Third umpire press the wrong button in India vs Australia Match

Nikhil Deshpande / 12 March 2015

In the 29th over of the Tri-series ODI against Australia, India appealed for a stumping against Mike Hussey off Suresh Raina’s bowling which was referred to third umpire Bruce Oxenford. 

What should have been a simple case of the official giving either of the two rulings – out or not out – turned into a comical scene.nIt was a comedy of errors which Indian cricket captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni did not find funny at all.

Hussey, whose foot seemed just behind the line in the replays, was declared out at first by Oxenford but as the left-hander made his way to the pavilion on-field umpire Billy Bowden rushed to bring him back.
As it transpired, the third umpire had apparently pushed the wrong button but swiftly made amends by asking the on-field officials to call the batsman back.

Hussey laughed his way back to the crease but Dhoni was not too amused and was seen having an animated chat with Bowden about the confusion as Australia were precariously placed at 119 for three at that stage.

The commentators did say that there could have been a “Technical Malfunction” in the lights going on but it was still funny to watch. Take a look 


Related Topics