England and Manchester United striker apologised for the “dive” that earned Manchester United a penalty in their 3-1 win against Preston North End in FA Cup’s fifth round claimed Preston’s goalkeeper Thorsten Stuckmann.

With 87 minutes on the clock, Rooney was all clear to score the goal and Stuckmann rushed out of his line to clear the ball. Stuckmann was successful in clearing the ball and it did appear that he brought Rooney down in the penalty box despite no contact from Stuckmann. 

Replays suggest that there has been no contact by the goalkeeper. Eventually Rooney did win a penalty and score from it. Several former players, coaches split their opinions on the act after the match.

“After the game Rooney told me: ‘Sorry, it was my chance to get a penalty. I had to use that’,” Stuckmann, Preston GoalKeeper, is quoted as saying in The Sun.

“I say it clear: That was no penalty,” he added. “I also believe that if the situation had happened the other way around, one of our strikers against the United keeper, the ref wouldn’t have given the penalty. I have no doubt about that.”

Rooney was backed by former Red Devil’s skipper Gary Neville claiming he has to dive inorder to get out from the way. England’s coach did support Rooney saying,”Not for me. I just think he was taking evasive action. If you are a referee in the run of play without replays I don’t think any of us would have said it is not a penalty. The goalkeeper has gone with both feet. Wayne has touched it past him.”

Preston’s manager had his opinion saying,”I am not saying it wasn’t a penalty. I’m saying there was no contact. It wasn’t a dive. He’s gone to get out of the way and taken evasive action.”

    I am a sports enthusiast. Primarily a football fan these days post the golden era of Indian cricket.

    Read More