Ben Stokes Criticizes Roy’s ‘Obstructing the Field’ Dismissal, Hales Finds The Funny Side Of The Episode
England all-rounder Ben Stokes is completely unhappy about the ‘obstructing the field’ dismissal of teammate Jason Roy during the 2nd T20I against South Africa at Taunton.
Roy was out in an unbelievable fashion, the first of its kind in the T20 format after he saw himself in the way of a throw directed at the stumps. The right-hander was England’s highest run-getter in their narrow three-run loss. His wicket was a crucial turning point of the match. Until his departure, England seemed to be cruising towards a simple win in the case of 175 runs.
Roy set himself off for single when after playing a delivery towards point but Livingstone was not interested in a single and declined the call. Roy was forced to turn back and rush to his end. But, he controversially ended up running from the right side of the pitch to the left. Andile Phelukwayo, in the meantime, threw towards the stumps which hit Roy who was in front of the wicket.
The South Africans appealed and the umpires after a good chat ruled Roy out. David Lloyd said in the commentary box, “He’s gone across to the other side of the pitch and that’ll be something the umpires take into consideration.”
Michael Atherton added, “Whether you can say he got himself deliberately between the ball and the stumps, I’m not sure.”
England captain Eoin Morgan strongly opposed the decision. However, former England cricketer Alec Stewart wrote on Twitter that he disagreed with Stokes but termed Roy’s dismissal as ‘controversial’.
Hales indulged in some fun and reminded Stokes and all the followers about the ‘obstructing the field’ dismissal. The seam bowling all – rounder himself was a victim of this form of dismissal at Lord’s in 2015 after his hand came in the way of Mitchell Starc’s return throw.
South Africa skipper AB de Villiers defended his team’s reaction. “We were in the right to ask the question of the umpires. It’s not an easy decision and it’s never nice to get out like that,” he said.
Two Out Of Four Would Be A Bit Too Much With The Pink Ball: Sourav Ganguly On Border-Gavaskar Trophy
BCCI’s president Sourav Ganguly informed that Cricket Australia (CA) hadn’t contacted him for day-night Test matches in the 2020/21 Border–Gavaskar Trophy in Australia. But former Indian captain said that he would look forward if there is any proposal with CA. Ganguly’s statement came after Cricket…
Indian Team Should Look Beyond Shikhar Dhawan: Kris Srikkanth Advise For T20 World Cup 2020 Combination
Former Indian captain Kris Srikkanth has advised for looking beyond Shikhar Dhawan for the next T20 World Cup, which has been scheduled in Australia in 2020. Currently, the opener is recovering from injury and therefore is out from T20I squad for the home series against…