Handballs of cricket: Handling the ball dismissals | Sportzwiki

Trending News

Blog Post

Cricket

Handballs of cricket: Handling the ball dismissals 

Handball is a very common phenomenon in football. As the game mostly involves actions of leg, it has certain rules if a player touches the ball with his hands. Though cricket is played more with hands, touching the ball in some occasions is not allowed.

After the ball is hit with the bat, the batsman can’t touch the ball without taking permission from the bowler and the keeper. If he does so, the umpire can declare him as out looking upon the situation. This rule in cricket is named as the charge of ‘handling the ball’. Though rare, there have been incidents where a batsman lost his wicket by handling the ball. Here are five such cases to look at:

1)       Cheteshwar Pujara:

The young Indian batsman committed this fault while playing for Derbyshire. As he hit the ball, it bounced up and it seemed like the ball was going to hit the wickets. Instinctively, he flicked the ball away. The Leicestershire team straight away appealed to the umpire and Pujara had to give away his wicket.

2)       Graham Gooch

Just like Pujara, Gooch also tried to save his wicket while the ball made his way towards the stumps. He lost the wicket either ways as the umpire declared him out as he handled the ball.

3)       Mohinder Amarnath

And there again is an Indian on the list. Legendary Amarnath also fell prey to the desire to protect the stumps while playing against Australia once. The result- it cost him his wicket. Watch here

4)       Steve Waugh

Players seem to be quite keen towards protecting the stumps while it’s an India vs Australia match going on it seems. Steve Waugh enlisted him along with the others here doing something quite similar. He first defended a Harbhajan Singh delivery and was standing still as Bhajji appealed to the umpire for LBW. But then the ball rebounded towards the stumps and the Aussie skipper couldn’t stop himself from stopping it. He ended up losing his wicket.

5)       Daryll Cullinan

But the most innocent victim of the rule is South Africa’s Daryll Cullinan. As a Brian Lara delivery made contact to his bat, it bounced and was about to land almost where he was standing. He playfully caught the ball unaware of the fact that the keeper was intending to catch it. Lara straight away appealed for a wicket and umpires could not help about it but gave him the wicket.

Apart from these five players, Russell Endean of South Africa, Andrew hilditch of England, Mohsin khan of Pakistan, and Desmond Haynes of West Indies have also been given out for handling the ball.

Get the latest news and updates from Indian Premier League, ICC World Cup 2019, Match Prediction & Fantasy cricket. Follow SportzWiki for all cricket news, WWE News & Sports News.

Related posts