The ICC has justified the decision of the umpires for calling the catch taken by Steven Smith as legal. Earlier in the 3rd ODI between Australia and Pakistan , Steven Smith took a fantastic catch to dismiss Fawad Alam . Several questions were then raised and it created a controversy on whether the catch was legal or not. Smith was fielding at first slip and he moved towards leg slip as Fawad Alam shaped up to flick the ball towards leg slip.
ICC has now come forward and has stated it legal. The rule states that if a closing fielder is moving in response to an action taken by the batsman ( action which make it obvious of the shot which the batsman is shaping to play), then it is legal. Even then if the umpire finds it wrong, he can call that illegal i.e if he feels that it’s an attempt to distract the batsman.
The debate was there because everyone believed that the fielder cannot move until the ball reaches the batsman but ICC has now cleared the issue. Actually, ICC had just recently asked the umires to take the later one to judge the legality , during the recent workshop of the match officials held at Dubai.
IPL 2020: Purse Remaining Of Each Team Revealed Ahead Of The Players’ Auction
At the end of the pre-auction trade window, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has announced the purse remaining amount for all the eight teams. They can buy the remaining number of players according to their slots availability in the upcoming players’ auction and they can…
IPL 2020: KXIP Reveals Their Retained And Released Squads
Ahead of the 2020 IPL players’ auction, Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) has released seven players and retained 14 players on Friday (15th November). At the end of the pre-auction trade window, KXIP has set 16 players in the squad for the next IPL season. Earlier…