IPL 2019: MS Dhoni Has No Business Entering The Ground – Former Umpire Hariharan
Perhaps, no one would have ever expected that a fuming Mahendra Singh Dhoni will enter into the middle of the pitch to argue a decision given by the umpire. Unfortunately, it took place, as the skipper of Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni lost his cool in the 20th over of the game against Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2019.
It took place in the 20th over of the game when Ben Stokes bowled a waist-high full toss to Mitchell Santner. The straight umpire Gandhe was quick in adjudging as No-ball but the leg-umpire Bruce Oxenford isn’t interested in giving it a no-ball.
Certainly, it didn’t go well with the skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who spotted the straight umpire raising his hand. He immediately made his way to the middle pointing out that the umpire has already made a call.
50% of match fees is a very light sanction – Hariharan
Meanwhile, the former umpire lashes at MS Dhoni for his behaviour. He believes that MS Dhoni has no business whatsoever to enter the ground and talk to the umpires in such a way. Hariharan isn’t happy with the quantum of the punishment as well.
“Obviously star players try to pressurise umpires. It’s up to the umpires to withstand the pressure. They will do what they feel. It depends on the personality of the umpire,” one of India’s most well-known international umpires, K Hariharan, told PTI on Friday.
“Lastly, Mahendra Singh Dhoni had no business entering the ground as that is completely prohibited. For starters, the 50% fine is a very light sanction,” said Hariharan.
Clarification for the commentators:
Meanwhile, the commentators in the stadium were puzzled, as the umpires haven’t taken the help of the third umpire even after such a lengthy discussion. Clarifying them, Hariharan quoted that they don’t have rules to ask for a no-ball check if the batsman isn’t dismissed by it.
“Now coming to commentators and experts. No umpire can go upstairs to check for validity of a no ball. Especially, if the batsman is not out. So, umpires couldn’t have referred it to TV umpire,” said Hariharan.
All in all, it was one of the rare mistakes committed by Mahendra Singh Dhoni. However, he accepted the sanctions imposed on him by the officials under the code of conduct rules.
Asia Cup 2020: Pakistan Can Take Ultimate Call Whether To Change Host Nation Or Not
While Pakistan has the right to host the Asia Cup 2020, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is reportedly not willing to send the national team in this tour. Before the upcoming meeting to re-discuss about the host nation of the Asia…
New Zealand vs India 2020: We Will Try to Win T20I Series 5-0 – Virat Kohli
And with the win in Hamilton, India has registered the victory in the T20I series against New Zealand. The third T20I match was a box office thriller as it led to super over. It was the first time when India had played the super over….