Is Removing Insignia Gloves a Statement of Double Standards by ICC?

Is Removing Insignia Gloves a Statement of Double Standards by ICC?

Insignia, ICC, World Cup 2019, Dhoni, India, BCCI,

Want to be a professional cricketer?
Register Now

*T&C Apply

Instead of focusing on the officiating process, ICC has anchored all their attention over MS Dhoni‘s gloves. The Indian wicketkeeper donned Insignia sign over his gloves during the first match of World Cup 2019. This became a talk of the town when cameras zeroed in on his gloves during the opening clash against South Africa. The International Cricket Council, however, decided to hush the voices asking BCCI to remove the Insignia logo from Dhoni’s gloves.

The topic of all the hustle came up during India’s opening match against South Africa. The wicketkeeper MS Dhoni stumped Andile Phehlukwayo in the 40th over of the innings when the cameras focused on Dhoni’s glove. It was during that zoom-in when the “Balidaan Badge” sign was spotted over his gloves. It is the symbol of regimental dagger insignia of the Indian Para Special Forces. And Dhoni is well known for his love for the Indian army, he participates in Army camps every year.

Cannot Allow Army Insignia on Dhoni’s Gloves, says ICC to BCCI.

ICC, BCCI, Dhoni, Insignia, World Cup 2019,

As soon as the news grapevine across the world, Dhoni’s fans lauded their favourite cricketer for his actions. However, the ICC was quick to wash the excitement off and rejected BCCI to allow Dhoni donning Insignia gloves. The cricket governing body claimed that they are just abiding the rules of international cricket. Whereas the Insignia logo defines nothing of politics or religion, clearly indicating that Dhoni was not breaking any rule.

“The ICC has responded to the BCCI to confirm the logo displayed by MS Dhoni in the previous match is not permitted to be worn on his wicket-keeping gloves at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019.” said ICC.

And finished saying, “The regulations for ICC events do not permit any individual message or logo to be displayed on any items of clothing or equipment. In addition to this, the logo also breaches the regulations in relation to what is permitted on wicketkeeper gloves.”

ICC’s decision a double statement for not objecting the “Army Salute” celebration by West Indies

ICC,BCCI, World Cup 2019, Dhoni, Insignia,

ICC’s decision of rejecting Dhoni from showing his love and support to the Indian army seems of a double standard. Dhoni hasn’t broken any rules and regulations having Army Insignia on his gloves. However, if so is the case, the ICC should consider Sheldon Cotrell’s method of celebrating after taking every wicket in the match. The West Indies player salutes after every wicket in order to show respect to the country’s defence forces.

ICC setting double standards.

This isn’t it, the administrating body of cricket has never objected Pakistan or Afghanistan from offering their prayers on the field. Whereas they had ditched their rules when England wore “poppy’ stitched shirts in order to pay tribute to the English soldiers.

These are just a few incidents overruled by ICC or the rules might have been altered a bit. ICC’s actions suggest their double standard and biased judgement on the cricket field time and again. This time they had hit the sentiments of cricket fans with their cold judgement.

Get the latest news and updates from Indian Premier League, ICC World Cup 2019, Match Prediction & Fantasy cricket. Follow SportzWiki for all cricket news, WWE News & Sports News.