SA vs AUS 2018: Did Pat Cummins Step on the Ball ‘On Purpose’?
The ‘ball-tampering’ saga in the ongoing Test series between South Africa and Australia fails to die down.
The incidents have taken a major shine away from the real cricket. A clip featuring pacer Pat Cummins is currently doing the rounds.
The footage is from the first day of the third Test match at Newlands. Cummins was seen stopping the ball and then stepping on it with spikes under his shoes. The incident took place in the 53rd over of the first innings. Dean Elgar played the ball back towards the bowler, and that’s how it rolled out.
Former Proteas skipper Graeme Smith was on air he said it was “accidentally on purpose” during the commentary.
On-field umpires Richard Illingworth and Nigel Llong had a close look at the ball, and the game continued.
“It was a mistake. I looked straight back, and the umpire (Richard Illingworth) started to giggle. It was very unintentional,” said Cummins.
Here’s the video of the incident:
— Michael Sherman (@Golfhackno1) March 22, 2018
The 24-year old scalped seven wickets in the game, but Australia ended up on the losing side.
Captain Steven Smith, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft were found guilty of ball-tampering. Smith and Warner have been banned for 12 months while Bancroft faces a nine-month off from the cricketing circuit.
Lehmann calls it quit
It didn’t take coach Darren Lehmann too long to analyse his future. ‘Boof’ stepped down from his position, lighting a bomb in the terrain.
“This will be my last Test as head coach of the Australian cricket team as I’m stepping down,” Lehmann said.
“I really felt for Steve as I saw him crying in front of the media, and all the players are really hurting. As I stated before, I had no prior knowledge of the incident and don’t condone what happened at all. But good people can make mistakes.” the coach said ahead of the fourth Test match.
“My family and I have copped a lot of abuse over the last week, and it’s taken its toll on them,” he added.
Here is the newsfeed:
Kumar Dharmasena Admits his ‘Overthrow’ Mistake During ICC World Cup 2019 Final
ICC elite umpire Kumar Dharmasena has accepted his folly after awarded England six runs from an overthrow in the last…
India vs Windies 2019: MSK Prasad Sheds Light on Hardik Pandya, Prithvi Shaw’s Absence
The selectors for Team India had announced the much-awaited squad for touring party India against the Windies. On Sunday (July…