Simon Taufel acknowledged giving wrong decision against Sachin Tendulkar. Simon Taufel, who was regarded as the best umpire in the world and even won ICC Umpire of The Year for five consecutive years from 2004 to 2008. But, he admitted his mistakes especially by giving Sachin Tendulkar out.
Taufel recalled the time when England’s Paul Collingwood bowled to Sachin and the ball hit his shoulder. However, Taufel thought it would go on to hit the wicket and gave Sachin out.
Sachin Tendulkar not happy with the decision of Simon Taufel
Simon Taufel said on 22 Yarns podcast hosted by Gaurav Kapur, “Well, I’m thinking, shouldered arms, so benefit of the doubt probably to the bowler, and I’ve given Sachin out after a bit of thought.”
“Now, of course, Sachin’s not happy with the decision. It’s unusual for him to stand around, and he did stand there for a little bit of time, and then he went. I could see that he wasn’t happy.”
“[…] Later on Hawkeye showed that the ball was predicted to miss the off stump by maybe an inch. And I just knew what the response was going to be like from world cricket; so I didn’t open Cricinfo, I didn’t read any newspapers, I knew that I was going to be… not the flavour of the month in the media,” he added.
Sachin Tendulkar, however, asked Simon Taufel not to worry:
“The following morning I happened to pass by Sachin on my normal morning walk out to the middle […] and I come across Sachin and I said, ‘look, yesterday I got it wrong, you know? I’ve looked at it, I got it wrong.’ He said, ‘look, Simon, I know.’ He said, ‘you’re a good umpire, you don’t often get many wrong, it’s okay, don’t worry about it.'”
“And out of that sort of exchange, which wasn’t an apology for the sake of making him feel better or me feel better, it was just an acknowledgement that we were both out there doing our best.
“This is sport, and I wanted to acknowledge that I knew the fact that he was unhappy, and I was doing my best to make sure that that didn’t happen again. That was really the underlying message,” Simon Taufel maintained.
“[…] I’m a big believer that breakdowns lead to breakthroughs, and I think that was an example where Sachin and I had a moment that wasn’t particularly pleasant, and I wanted him to know that I took my job seriously and I was going to make sure that that didn’t happen again.
“And I think out of that exchange, that relationship bank account got a massive credit because I think that breakdown moment did lead to a breakthrough. We have an ongoing mutual respect for each other and our abilities, because I’ve got Sachin wrong a number of times, not just on that one occasion.
“I’ve got the best in the world wrong. And I’ve learned from all those examples, but one thing that will always be with me, apart from those mistakes, is the respect and the trust and the integrity of our relationships as we go forward,” Taufel concluded.
Mistakes do happen in cricket and in future Taufel admits that he will try not to repeat his mistakes. He will instead try to learn from the mistakes and earn the trust of cricketers in the near future.