Gujarat captain Parthiv Patel was caught using some harsh words for on-field umpire Virender Sharma after the latter wrongly adjudged the batsman out during second innings of Ranji Trophy winners in the ongoing Irani Cup against Rest of India (ROI).
During the 48th over, Patel was adjudged caught-out at short leg, which in the replay saw no bat being involved in it. The ball rushed off the pad and was brilliantly taken by Akhil Herwadkar at the position. Fumed with his decision, Patel on his way back to the pavilion, was caught on the stumps mic saying, ‘Umpiring kyun karte ho?’ (Why do you officiate) to Sharma. Later also, he was seen talking to the match referee Chinmaya Sharma.
When asked about his remarks for the umpire, Parthiv denied replying saying he is no one to comment on such decisions. He further accepted the wrong doing, saying he knows he will be charged for the same post the match.
“I can’t do anything about it. I cannot make any comment on it because I will obviously get charged for what I have done.Everyone has seen it. I don’t think I can make any comment on the decision; it’s under the rule.”
Well, this was not the only controversy of the day. The other one came when bowler Anil Thadani was adjudged caught at slip off left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem in the final session. The delivery appeared to have made no connection with the bat, and including the TV commentators, he was given out LBW.
But later, the umpire confirmed that it wasn’t LBW, but rather caught out, leaving the Gujarat captain livid in the dressing room.