India did not have much to celebrate on the second day of the first Test match against New Zealand. After dismissing Martin Guptill cheaply when the score was 35, Kane Williamson and Tom Latham sent the Indian bowlers on a leather hunt.
But the highlight of the day was KL Rahul’s catch which was denied by the umpires. The incident happened in the 37th over. Tom Latham attempted to sweep a Ravinder Jadeja delivery but he could not connect it cleanly and the ball went straight to KL Rahul who was standing at short leg. The Indian fielders made a big appeal but the on-field umpire asked them to wait as they were not sure if the ball hit the ground or the boot after the inside edge. Well, the ball had not touched the ground but there was another twist in the tale.
While trying to take the catch, Rahul juggled a bit and in the process,the ball hit the helmet grille or the chin strap before being caught by him. Following the rules of the game, the third umpire gave the decision in the favour of the batsman.
Law 32.3 of the game states that a catch will be fair only if the ball is hugged to the body of the catcher or accidentally lodges in his clothing or, in the case of a wicket-keeper only, in his pads. However, it is not a fair catch if the ball lodges in a protective helmet worn by a fielder.
Watch the catch:
— BCCI (@BCCI) September 23, 2016
Meanwhile, the Indian bowlers toiled hard to break the partnership. Before the arrival of rain, the visitors had scored 152 for the loss of one wicket. Latham was batting on 56 and Kane Williamson was on 65.
[pkl_srttable maid=”2″ id=”wordcup-sw” ]
Everybody Will Be Respected Till I Am Around: Sourav Ganguly On MS Dhoni
The appointment of Sourav Ganguly is all set to revolutionize BCCI’s working and with a former captain being the board’s…
WWE News: Brie Bella Reveals Amazing S*X Toy Story Of Sister Nikki Bella
The Bella Twins are undoubtedly the most socially active WWE superstars of this generation. With their own YouTube channel, they…