Diego Costa finally speaks about BIB INCIDENT and Mourinho, what did he say? | Sportzwiki

Trending News

Post

Football

Diego Costa finally speaks about BIB INCIDENT and Mourinho, what did he say? 

Diego Costa has finally admitted that it was an impulsive mistake, to throw the training bib towards Jose Mourinho.

The controversial striker so far has endured a miserable season, netting only 4 times in 18 appearances.

Mourinho eventually dropped the Spain international for their trip to Tottenham Hotspur in November and Costa flung a bib behind the Portuguese manager’s head, when he failed to make it off the substitute’s bench at White Hart Lane.

“I have to improve a bit,” Costa said in an interview with Onda Cero.

“The start of the season has not been good for me – not in how I have played nor in goals.

“I know I have to be better to go to Euro 2016 with Spain. I have to work hard and fight, but I know I have time to improve and I hope I will.

“The bib [incident] is in the past. I made a mistake, but my relationship with Mourinho is amazing, we get on really well. There are things you need to control, but the bib thing was an impulse.

“The truth is Chelsea haven’t been in a great moment, above all losing the other day in home. Today it was important to win to make the fans happy and to recover our confidence.”

However, Diego Costa was fortunate to remain on the field against Porto following an unnecessary clash with Porto goalkeeper Iker Casillas in the first half at Stamford Bridge.

The aggressive striker was back in Mourinho’s first eleven for the crucial Champions League encounter having warmed the bench for Chelsea’s recent fixtures and just after returning to the side he could have seen a red card had there been a more strict referee than Turk Cuneyt Cakir officiating the game. 

Early in the first half, Porto goalkeeper Casillas collected the ball inside his area just before Costa could get to it. As the veteran Spqnish goalkeeper was looking up to see where he could pass the ball, his national team-mate unnecessarily tripped him up.

The referee however decided to show Costa only a yellow card, despite Champions League referees’ unique habit of issuing harsh red cards. The scoreline was 1-0 at the time of the incident.

 

Get the latest news and updates from Indian Premier League, ICC World Cup 2019, Match Prediction & Fantasy cricket. Follow SportzWiki for all cricket news, WWE News & Sports News.

Related posts