ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: New Zealand’s Fielding Strategy Blunder Remains Unnoticed
In the rain-interrupted first semi-final of the 2019 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, New Zealand beat India by 18 runs. Despite a big early collapse at chasing, India almost snatched a victory in an incredible way. During the crucial 49th over of India’s innings, New Zealand made a vital mistake in the fielding but luckily escaped as everyone failed to notice that.
That semi-final ran for the two days (9th and 10th July) due to the rain-interruption. New Zealand won the toss in that match and scored 239/8 (50 overs) in the first innings.
In reply, India were struggling on 5/3 and 24/4 during the initial stages. Later, the middle-order batsmen fought hard, but India were battling on 92/6.
Later, MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja played impressive cricket which helped India to fight back in that match. Dhoni and Jadeja had an incredible 116-run partnership for the seventh wicket. Jadeja scored 77 runs off 59 balls while Dhoni scored 50 runs off 72 balls.
New Zealand fielded an extra player outside the 30-yard circle
Meanwhile, New Zealand’s controversial mistake happened during the 49th over when Dhoni was batting. As the third powerplay was running at that time, a maximum of five fielders was allowable to field outside the 30-yard circle at that time. However, the field map was showing six players outside the 30-yard circle when India needed 25 runs off 10 balls.
— Rathish Kannah (@rathishsrk03) July 10, 2019
Just want a small clarification @ICC
How Come 6 fielders stay outside the 30 yard circle during the third phase of powerplay (5 fielders are only allowed to stay outside the 30 yard circle) #INDvsNZ #indiavsNewzealand #NZvsIND #CWC2019 #CWC19 pic.twitter.com/nzKUnMrNA4
— Troll Dhoni Haters Tamil Version (@tdhtv_offl) July 10, 2019
— Sandy (@Sandy44795403) July 10, 2019
Soon, the New Zealand pacer Lockie Ferguson delivered the next ball where MS Dhoni was run-out by Martin Guptill‘s direct hit.
As New Zealand broke the fielding rules on that delivery, the on-field umpires should call that a no-ball and also give the free-hit signal. However, Dhoni’s run-out wouldn’t be cancelled anyway. But, the Indian players and the on-field umpires totally missed noticing that big mistake.
India were finally bundled out for 221 runs in 49.3 overs as New Zealand won that match by 18 runs. With this victory, New Zealand have reached the CWC final for the second time. Their first CWC final was in the previous edition (2015) where Australia beat them in that final.
New Zealand will play the 2019 CWC final on 14th July against the winner of the second semi-final at Lord’s (London). In the meantime, Australia and England will face each other at Birmingham in the second semi-final on Thursday (11th July).
India Vs Windies 2019/20: Second T20I – India’s Predicted XI
On Sunday (8th December), the hosts India will face the visiting side Windies in the second game of the three-match T20I series at Greenfield International Stadium (Thiruvananthapuram). India is leading this series by 1-0 with two to go. In the first game of this series…
Reigns Vs. Corbin & Universal Title Match Set For WWE TLC 2019
The Universal championship picture witnessed a sudden change on last night’s SmackDown that is set to produce a brand new title match at WWE TLC PPV. The Fiend Bray Wyatt will compete against The Miz in a feud that was reportedly nixed out, pretty well….