Indian cricketer Dinesh Karthik feels that the International Cricket Council needs to modify some rules. According to him, it makes no sense to implement such rules which are being used in the name of tradition but are not correct. And one such law of cricket as per him is opposition scoring runs after overthrow followed by a direct hit. He believes that this rule should be scrapped.
In many instances, batsman runs for singles and doubles after the fielders throw down the stumps but the ball rolls away. Sometimes, the ball races away to the boundary as well.
ICC Need To Change This Rule Bringing In Common Sense: Dinesh Karthik
Talking to Cricketnext as part of the Laws of Cricket Challenge, Karthik said the runs should not be given to the opposition after balls hit the wicket as a part of the throw from fielders. He said some rules should be changed brining in common sense.
“I have a few opinions on laws that can be definitely changed. The laws have been around for some time and a lot I understand is to do with the fact that they call the tradition of the game, but I think somewhere they need to bring in common sense as well. Few of the laws can definitely be changed. That’s my opinion and I feel it will happen in time,” Karthik was quoted as saying to Cricket Next.
“One simple law that I would like to change is if there is a direct hit, there should be no runs after that. I think it makes no sense for the ball to hit the stump and then be given runs for that. I feel it’s a great skill to be able to, you know, hit the stumps,” he added.
Kolkata Knight Riders captain Dinesh Karthik reasoned that a rule change (above mentioned) will encourage fielders to hit the stumps more often without hesitation, thereby inducing a ‘visual spectacle’ for fans.
“And more importantly it’s a visual spectacle for the spectators and I think you should encourage that. There is no point discouraging that (and bring in a situation) where the fielders are scared it will hit the stumps and it will go on for overthrows.
“If it doesn’t hit the stumps, then definitely overthrows are accepted. But if it hits the stumps, I think the ball should be called dead ball soon after.”