IPL 2019, Qualifier 1: MI vs CSK – Statistical Preview

Trending News

Blog Post

Cricket

IPL 2019, Qualifier 1: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings – Stats Preview 

IPL 2019, Qualifier 1: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings – Stats Preview
Image Credit: Google

On Tuesday (7th May) night, Mumbai Indians (MI) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will meet in the Qualifier 1 of IPL 2019 at MA Chidambaram Stadium (Chepauk, Chennai).

At the end of the League Stage of IPL 2019, MI and CSK both earned 18 points, but MI finished on top of the points table due to the higher net run-rate than CSK. Meanwhile, CSK finished in the second position in the IPL 2019 points table.

Before their crucial meeting in the Qualifier 1 of IPL 2019, let’s look at some vital stats preview of the match.

Teams’ forms in IPL 2019

Recent results (in last five matches)

MI (oldest to latest) – Lost, Won, Lost, Won (in Super Over) and Won

CSK (oldest to latest) – Lost, Won, Lost, Won and Lost

Men-in-form

Stats MI CSK
Top run-scorer Quinton de Kock (492 wickets) MS Dhoni (368 runs)
Top wicket-taker Jasprit Bumrah (17 wickets) Imran Tahir (21 wickets)

 

Head-to-head records between MI and CSK

Stats Matches MI won CSK won Tied/No Result
Overall 28 16 12 0/0
In IPL 26 15 11 0/0
At MA Chidambaram Stadium (Chepauk, Chennai) 7 5 2 0/0
In playoffs/knockouts 7 2 5 0/0
In the last 10 matches 10 6 4 0/0
In IPL 2019 2 2 0 0/0
  • MI won all their last three matches against CSK. The Chennai franchise last time beat the Mumbai franchise on 7th April 2018 at Mumbai.

Important stats between MI and CSK

(Team stats)

Stats MI (vs CSK) CSK (vs MI)
Highest total 202/7 (20 overs) at Chennai on 23rd April 2008 & 202/5 at  Kolkata on 24th May 2015 208/5 (20 overs) at Chennai on 23rd April 2008
Lowest completed total 139/5 (20 overs) at Mumbai on 5th  May 2013 79 (15.2 overs) at Mumbai on 5th  May 2013
Largest victory (by runs) 60 runs at Mumbai on 5th  May 2013 48 runs at Delhi on 21st May 2013
Largest victory (by wickets) 9 wickets at Mumbai on 14th May 2008 7 wickets for thrice

 

 

(Player stats)

Stats MI (vs CSK) CSK (vs MI)
Highest individual score 114* by Sanath Jayasuriya at Mumbai on 14th May 2008 86* by Michael  Hussey at Delhi on 21st May 2013
Best bowling figures 5/18 by Harbhajan Singh at Mumbai on 22nd April 2011 4/14 by Mohit Sharma at Dubai (DSC) on 25th April 2014
Most runs scored 627 runs by Rohit Sharma 717 runs by Suresh Raina
Most wickets 36 wickets by Lasith Malinga 27 wickets by Dwayne Bravo

 

 

Other important stats

MI

  • Rohit Sharma (3,982 runs) is 18 runs away to complete his 4,000 T20 runs for MI. He will be the first batsman to score 4,000 T20 runs for this franchise.
MI, CSK, IPL 2019, stats preview
Rohit Sharma
  • Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock (492 runs) is eight runs away to complete his 500 runs in this IPL season. He will be the third MI overseas batsman to score 500 or more runs in an IPL season. Meanwhile, it will be the eighth time when an MI batsman will score 500 or more runs in an IPL season.
MI, CSK, IPL 2019, stats preview
Quinton de Kock
  • Quinton de Kock (1,419 runs) is 81 runs away to complete his 1,500 IPL runs.

 

CSK

  • The all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja will play his 100th IPL match for CSK. After Suresh Raina and MS Dhoni, Jadeja will be the third player to play 100 or more IPL matches for this side.
MI, CSK, IPL 2019, stats preview
Ravindra Jadeja
  • The left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja (106 wickets) is one wicket away to become the most IPL wicket-taker as a left-arm bowler. At present, he is the joint most wicket-taker in IPL history as a left-arm bowler along with the former left-arm pacer Ashish Nehra (106 wickets).
  • Ravindra Jadeja (148 wickets) needs to take two more wickets to complete his 150 T20 wickets.
  • Caribbean middle-order batsman Dwayne Bravo (299 sixes) is one six away to complete his 300 T20 sixes.
  • Dwayne Bravo (1,468 runs) is 32 runs away to complete his 1,500 IPL runs.
  • Dwayne Bravo (912 runs) needs to score 88 more runs to complete his 1,000 IPL runs for CSK.
  • Caribbean medium-pacer Dwayne Bravo (49 wickets) needs to take one more wicket to complete his 50 T20 wickets at MA Chidambaram Stadium (Chepauk, Chennai). After the Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin (51 wickets), Bravo will be the second bowler to pick up 50 or more T20 wickets at this venue.

MI, CSK, IPL 2019, stats preview

  • Dwayne Bravo (145 wickets) is five wickets away to complete his 150 IPL wickets.
  • Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh (147 wickets) is three wickets away to complete his 150 IPL wickets.
IPL 2019, Qualifier 1: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings – Stats Preview 1
Harbhajan Singh
  • The South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir (298 wickets) is two wickets away to complete his 300 T20 wickets.
IPL 2019, Qualifier 1: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings – Stats Preview 2
Imran Tahir
  • Faf du Plessis (48 sixes) is two sixes away and Shane Watson (47 sixes) is three sixes away to complete their 50 IPL sixes for CSK.
IPL 2019, Qualifier 1: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings – Stats Preview 3
Shane Watson and Faf du Plessis

Get the latest news and updates from Indian Premier League, ICC World Cup 2019, Match Prediction & Fantasy cricket. Follow SportzWiki for all cricket news, WWE News & Sports News.

Related posts