Shannon Gabriel Faces Charges For His Homophobic Comment – Sportzwiki

Trending News

Post

Cricket

Shannon Gabriel Faces Charges For His Homophobic Comment 

Shannon Gabriel Faces Charges For His Homophobic Comment
GROS ISLET, SAINT LUCIA - FEBRUARY 11: Shannon Gabriel of West Indies exchanges words with Joe Root and Joe Denly of England during Day Three of the Third Test match between the West Indies and England at Darren Sammy Cricket Ground on February 11, 2019 in Gros Islet, Saint Lucia. (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images,)

Windies pacer Shannon Gabriel has faced charges from the International Cricket Council (ICC) for his homophobic comment during the third Test against England at St.Lucia.

That incident happened on day three afternoon of the third and final Test of the series against England. The 30-year-old Windies pacer involved in an on-field altercation with the English batsmen Joe Root and Joe Denly.

Shannon Gabriel, Joe Root
Shannon Gabriel involved in an altercation with the English batsmen (Image Credit: Getty Images)

Though the stump-mic didn’t catch Shannon Gabriel’s words, it caught Joe Root’s words which were a reply.

The English Test skipper said, “Don’t use it as an insult. There’s nothing wrong with being gay.”

Later, the on-field umpire had a word with the Windies pacer.

On Tuesday, the ICC charged Shannon Gabriel for breaching the Article of 2.13 of the Code of Conduct. While the charge has come after the on-field umpires’ reports, the match referee Jeff Crowe will now deal with it.

The ICC official Twitter account posted, “Shannon Gabriel has been charged with a breach Article 2.13 of the ICC Code of Conduct. The charge, which was laid by match umpires, will now be dealt with by Match Referee Jeff Crowe. Until the proceedings have concluded, the ICC will not comment further. @ICC”

Article 2.13 applies to use of “language of a personal, insulting, obscene and/or offensive nature”.

West Indies have played some fantastic cricket, it would be a shame if it tarnishes it

Shannon Gabriel, Joe Root
Image Credit: Getty Images

At the end of the match, the English Test skipper Joe Root claimed that it would be a shame if that incident would tarnish Windies’ hard-earned position in this series.

Joe Root said, “The ICC have got to handle things and I am not in a position to comment but throughout the series it has been played in the right manner between the two sides. West Indies have played some fantastic cricket, they are a good bunch of guys and it would be a shame if it tarnishes it. It has been a good hard-fought series. As a player you feel you have responsibilities to uphold on the field and I stand by what I did.

“I just did what I thought was right. You have responsibility to go about things in a certain manner on the field and it felt appropriate to act how I did.”

Windies lost the third Test but won the series

Though Windies lost the Test match by 232 runs, they won the three-match Test series by 2-1. After Windies bowled out the visiting side for 277 runs in the first innings, the hosts only managed to reply with 154 runs. England declared their second innings on 361/5 as they set a 485-run target for Windies. In reply, the hosts just managed to score 252 runs before losing their final wicket. Shannon Gabriel (2/49 & 2/95) bagged a total of four wickets in this match.

Earlier in this Test series, Windies won the first two Tests. The host side won the first Test at Bridgetown by 381 runs and won the second Test by ten wickets.

Get the latest news and updates from Indian Premier League, ICC World Cup 2019, Match Prediction & Fantasy cricket. Follow SportzWiki for all cricket news, WWE News & Sports News.

Related posts