WWE News: Why R-Truth Won United States Title On Smackdown?
A shocking title change took place on this past week’s episode of Smackdown Live. R-Truth won the United States Championship defeating Shinsuke Nakamura. Just two days prior to that show, Nakamura won the title at the Royal Rumble pre-show event defeating Rusev. So the audience did not expect another handover of the title.
R-Truth received the United States Championship opportunity all of a sudden on Smackdown. He stated that it was a chance given by the officials since he could not enter the Royal Rumble match. Nia Jax attacked him from the back to deliver a thorough beatdown. She herself replaced R-Truth to enter at #30 spot.
Thereafter, his match against Nakamura happened on Smackdown. He won the match in a controversial fashion (referee’s fault) to win the United States Championship. It came as an utter surprise on the show that followed up with another one. R-Truth defeated Rusev just moments later to have his first title defense.
For those who were wondering what was going on, we have some information. According to the Wrestling Observer, WWE officials booked this controversial finish intentionally. They wanted to throw a jab at the NFL referees due to the recent controversy in the Saints and Rams game.
It is not something new to see in WWE programming. They often mention such things on TV programming or books segments based on some recent incidents. It was one of those which was able to garner attention from the fans. R-Truth won back the United States Championship at an age of 47 years which is pretty much incredible.
This is not the first time for WWE to book R-Truth to be part of such a segment where WWE wanted to take a jab at somebody. The creative team allowed him to mock Steve Harvey for announcing the wrong Miss Universe in 2015. They recreated the whole segment in the annual Slammy Award ceremony just days later.
R-Truth was the one to name the winner of the ‘Diva of the Year’ category for 2015. She announced Paige’s name who already started to deliver her acceptance speech. Later he came back and declared his mistake. It was actually Nikki Bella who won the award. Nevertheless, it turned out to be a funny take by the superstar who always does something entertaining for us.
New Zealand vs India 2020: Kane Williamson Rues Hamilton Loss
The 3rd T20I in Hamilton had to go through a super over to decide the winner of the five-match series. In the recent past, Kane Williamson’s side faced England in super over, first in the World Cup finals and then in the T20I series. However,…
New Zealand vs India 2020: Rohit Sharma Hits 26 Runs Off Five Balls in Hamilton
Virat Kohli and Co. in the third T20I match set the target of 180 runs for New Zealand at Seddon Park in Hamilton. The highest scorer for India in the game was the limited-overs vice-captain, Rohit Sharma. He played an amazing innings to give a…