Rishabh Pant's Mistake Denies A Clear Stumping Of Liton Das

Trending News

Blog Post

Cricket

Watch: Rishabh Pant’s Mistake Denies A Clear Stumping Of Liton Das 

Watch: Rishabh Pant’s Mistake Denies A Clear Stumping Of Liton Das
Rishabh Pant (Image Credit: Google)

At the beginning of his international career, Rishabh Pant mostly became the special talking points for his successes. But now, most people are talking about Pant for his recent failures. In the ongoing Rajkot T20I, wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant made another mistake that denied an important wicket for India.

The 22-year-old Rishabh Pant is already under pressure for his recent struggles in international cricket. During the Delhi T20I on last Sunday (3rd November) night, Pant disappointed with his overall performances, especially using the DRS.

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant (Image Credit: Twitter)

On Thursday (7th November), Rohit Sharma-led India are busy to play the Rajkot T20I against Bangladesh. It is the second T20I of this three-match T20I series. While Bangladesh won the Delhi T20I on last Sunday night, India can’t afford another defeat in this series.

After winning the toss, India decided to field first. Bangladesh openers Liton Das and Mohammad Naim provided a very good start for the visitors. After the first five overs of the game, Bangladesh scored 41/0.

Rishabh Pant grabbed the ball just ahead of the stumps

The Indian leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal came to bowl his first over of this match in the last over of the mandatory powerplay. On the third ball of that over, Liton stepped down to hit the ball but he completely missed and the wicketkeeper Pant made no mistake to break that wicket. It was looking like a very clear stumping but the drama started in the replay.

Replay showed that Pant broke that stumps perfectly, but mistakenly Pant took the ball just ahead of the stumps.

Rishabh Pant, stumpings
Rishabh Pant made a slight error that saved Liton Das from getting stumping dismissal (Image Credit: Twitter)

According to the law, the wicketkeeper must have to allow the ball to pass the stumps before taking it unless it has touched either the batsman or his bat first. But Pant’s gloves were marginally ahead from the striker-end wickets. So, that dismissal was denied by the third umpire and it was called a no-ball. Though it was completely an unintentional mistake from Pant, India and Chahal missed getting a deserving wicket.

Next ball was a free hit where Liton Das took that advantage and hit a boundary to Chahal.

However, soon after that, Pant ran out Liton Das (29 runs). Later, Pant also stumped the set batsman Soumya Sarkar (30 runs).

At the end of that first innings, Bangladesh managed the total of 153/6 (20 overs). Opener Mohammad Naim scored the highest runs in that innings which was 36 runs. Captain Mahmudullah also scored 30 runs at late of that innings.

Get the latest news and updates from Indian Premier League, ICC World Cup 2019, Match Prediction & Fantasy cricket. Follow SportzWiki for all cricket news, WWE News & Sports News.

Related posts