Cricket

Video: Ahmed Shehzad Cheats as he claims a false Catch

Pakistani opener Ahmed Shehzad was involved in a disgraceful act in the fourth ODI against Pakistan when he appealed for a catch to dismiss Lahiru Thirimanne. Thirimanne, while batting on 84, swept a Yasir Shah delivery towards the square-leg region where Shehzad ran forward, dived forward and caught the ball.

Here is the catch:

He was convinced and gave a positive reply to his teammates, who asked him about the catch. Here is that footage:

 

But the umpires were not convinced and referred the catch. The reply suggested the ball popped out of his hands, rolled on the ground before Shehzad held it with his elbow. Eventually, Thirimanne was given not-out.

Here is what the replays suggested:

Later in Yasir Shah’s very next over, Thirimanne was dismissed caught by Shehzad for 86. Will actions be taken against Shahzad?

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Top