Ashwin, Thisara Perera, Dismissal
Ravichandran Ashwin during a training session

A  Sri Lankan cricket fan was the latest to discover the wit of India cricketer Ravichandran Ashwin, as the two of them engaged in an argument over an incident which took place in the India-Sri Lanka group match in the ongoing Asia Cup.

In the penultimate over of the Sri Lankan innings, Thisara Perera was victim to a wrong decision from the square leg umpire. As he tried to charge Ashwin’s delivery, he missed the ball and Dhoni flicked the stumps off. The umpire, without a moment’s hesitation, raised his finger.

Replays showed that the batsman had brought the bat back inside his crease in the same sweeping motion with which he had  given the charge. However, umpire Shozab Raza had been confident that the batsman was out, and did not feel the need to refer the decision to the third umpire.

Thisara Perera’s wicket prevented the Islanders from reaching 150 and beyond, and they were shot down for 138 for 9. His 6 ball 17 had given a push to the score, but it was not enough to challenge India. There was some outrage from Sri Lankan fans after the match regarding the Perera dismissal, and it was one of the protesters who Ashwin took interacted with:

After this exchange, the fan seemed to target Ashwin himself, saying his sporting spirit should have pushed him to call back batsman. Ashwin replied to this saying that he possessed tunnel vision, but did not have a 3D vision or the ability to see through a batsman.

    Sports Crazy man, Live in cricket, Love writing, Studied English journalism in Indian Institute of Mass Communication, Chose sports as the subject for study, Born 24 years ago during the 1992 Cricket world cup. When he is not writing love to watch movies and reading books and novels.

    Read More